Skip to main content

In 2023, John Carroll’s Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling Programs received the maximum eight-year re-accreditation after submitting a two-year interim report, meaning that John Carroll's program is currently accredited into 2029. This fact reflects the Department’s commitment to excellence and demonstrates that the Department of Counseling meets or exceeded all accreditation standards. In February 2024, John Carroll University's Online Clinical Mental Health Counseling Program received accreditation by CACREP.

Gaining and maintaining CACREP accreditation is essential for any counseling program, especially in Ohio. In 2014, the Ohio State Legislature passed legislation requiring all counseling programs to be CACREP-accredited by 2018. In addition, several insurance carriers will reimburse only for counselors who earned degrees from CACREP-accredited programs.

John Carroll University has determined that its counseling curriculum meets the state educational requirement for licensure/certifications in the State of Ohio. John Carroll University has not made a determination that our counseling curriculum meets state educational requirements for licensure/certifications in any other state, territory, or country. Please check with your state licensing board to determine if our curriculum meets requirements in your state

For Fall 2023, the total enrollment for the two master’s programs was 212: 165 in Clinical Mental Health Counseling and 47 in School Counseling. Of the students admitted to the fall 2020 cohort, 90% completed the Clinical Mental Health Counseling program in the expected three-year time period and 86% completed the School Counseling program in the expected three-year time period. The programs had 68 graduates from Summer 2021 to Spring 2022: 46 in Clinical Mental Health Counseling and 22 in School Counseling. Our graduates have consistently achieved high scores and high pass rates on licensing examinations. During this academic year, the graduates of the Clinical Mental Health Program had a pass rate of 97% on the NCE examination. School Counseling graduates achieved a 91% passing rate for school counselor licensure. Our graduates also have been extremely successful in obtaining employment in positions in recognized occupations for which they were trained. For Clinical Mental Health Counseling graduates the employment rate was 100%. School Counseling graduates had a 68% employment rate. The figure for School Counseling is complicated by the fact that several students are looking for employment only within their school or in a specific geographic area, and some graduates are already employed in the field of education as teachers who may choose to pursue a school counseling position at a later date.

Learn more about the skills students who complete the counseling programs will be able to demonstrate.

The Department of Counseling offers master’s degrees in Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Online Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling. All programs are CACREP-accredited.