Skip to main content

The Newman Civic Fellows Award honors inspiring college student leaders who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country, recommended by college and university presidents to acknowledge motivation and ability in public leadership. Through service, research, and advocacy, Newman Civic Fellows are making the most of their college experiences to better understand themselves, the root causes of social issues, and effective mechanisms for creating lasting change. These students represent the next generation of public problem solvers and civic leaders. They serve as national examples of the role that higher education can—and does—play in building a better world. Newman Civic Fellows form a unique network of leaders who will inspire and keep hope alive for one another during college and afterward, as the network expands exponentially each year.

The Newman Civic Fellows Awards are made possible through the generous support of the KPMG Foundation and Newman’s Own Foundation, in memory of Frank Newman, who dedicated his life to creating systemic change through education reform. Read more here.


Recipients of the Newman Civic Fellows Award

2020 | Caroline Maltese ’21

Caroline Maltese Headshot

A junior majoring in Cell and Molecular Biology, Caroline Maltese is a student leader and advocate who is passionate about confronting health disparities in both urban and rural settings. Caroline volunteers with University Hospital’s “Rainbow Connects” program, which seeks to allocate social services and ensure quality patient care to under-served populations in Cleveland. Through her leadership with CSSA, Caroline helps other students understand root causes of social problems and challenges them to discern and act upon structural injustice. She is a confident facilitator, appreciative of diverse experiences and worldviews, and, as an aspiring physician, a tireless advocate for equitable health care and social service access for all.

Past Recipients:

  • 2019 | Naudia Loftis ’20
  • 2018 | Sean Freeman ’19
  • 2017 | Zachary Thomas ’18
  • 2016 | Robin Goist ’18